Wesleyan tops Amherst. Photo Credit: Mitch Lieberman

Get To Know A D3 Program: Wesleyan

1 - Published April 9, 2013 by in NESCAC Lacrosse

The CAC to the ‘CAC is always striving to get more D3 lacrosse information out there, and today we take a deeper look at Wesleyan University in CT. I’m starting with Wesleyan because I went there, and know the program well. If YOU would like to see a different program featured next week, email us and put “D3 Program” in the subject line!

Wesleyan Head Coach John Raba

2013 Wesleyan Promo Video

Wesleyan Tops Colby – Buzzer Beater Goal

Wesleyan has a 379-306 overall record, and has been offering varsity lacrosse since 1960. Coach Raba has been at Wesleyan for the past 16 years, and holds a 182-86 record so far in his career. Wesleyan has won one NESCAC crown in that time, in 2009, and has been to the NCAAs four times, amassing two final four trips and a 6-4 overall record in the NCAAs.

John Landay is the all-time leading scorer at Wesleyan wit 306 points, on 186 goals and 120 assists. Five players (Landay, Peter Roy, Andrew Rotando, Glenn Adams, and Russell Follansbee) have scored 200 points or more over the course of their careers for the Cardinals.

Spike Malangone and Glenn Adams are the only three time All-Americans for Wesleyan, and Spike was the 2009 Defender of the Year. Glenn Adams is the highest scoring midfielder in Wesleyan’s history, and saw time with the Lizards and Cannons in the MLL.

The Cardinals enjoy good alumni support and involvement, and many former starters spend a year or two as assistant coaches inside the program. This year, Charlie Congleton, a former All-American goalie for Wesleyan, is helping out, and he continues the proud tradition of alumni assistants (of which I was also a part). The rest of the staff is often a bit older, and both Will Parker and Rick McCarthy have been with the program for years, focusing on defense and offense, respectively.

Wesleyan currently sits at 8-2 (4-2 in the NESCAC) and is ranked 19th in the latest poll.

Photo Credit: Mitch Lieberman


, , , ,